Caring Teachers & Staff

To nurture is to nourish.  Nurturing a child encompasses all aspects of development: social, emotional, cognitive, and physical.  In every interaction, our staff strives to nurture appropriate growth and development.

Our teachers are required to wear many hats.  As experienced teachers, they are always prepared to be flexible. In most cases, their role as early childhood teachers will be very similar to that of a guide. They will guide your child down new paths, they will allow your child to choose their learning and playing style, they will encourage them to find their own answers instead of providing the answers for them, and they will keep them safe from harm.

As guides, teachers learn with the children and share in their experiences. Documenting, lesson planning, preparing materials and the environment, require our teachers to have strong management skills and a loving commitment to the children.

Teachers also take care to listen to each child, including interpreting words and actions.  Listening carefully helps teachers determine a child's needs and aids in furthering the child's development. Documentation is an important part of our day. Staff take pictures and write down the children's ideas and thoughts. A portfolio of each child's work, along with photographs and written documentation, is collected throughout the year and given to the children in June.

Our teachers enjoy communicating with many people throughout the day: parents, children, support staff, the general public, and administrators.  We want you, and your child, to feel comfortable asking questions, seeking advice, and sharing your experiences.

We invite you to get to know us. Please use this contact information to let us know of any questions or concerns!


Founders

Lenka Popplestone, B.Ed, ECE

Co-Founder

Lenka.Popplestone@greatjourneyslc.ca

Jitka Smuszko, B.Ed, ECE

Co-Founder

Jitka.Smuszko@thevillagecalgary.ca

Teachers

Nicole (Nicki) Starkman, E.C.E. Diploma

Lead Reggio Teacher

nicole.starkman@greatjourneyslc.ca

Jan Peterson, Teacher Assistant Certification - U of C

Teacher Assistant

jan.peterson@greatjourneyslc.ca

 

Suzannah Weld, Montessori Early Childhood Diploma

Co-Lead Montessori Teacher

suzannah.weld@greatjourneyslc.ca

Angela Prado, Montessori Early Childhood, and Lower Elementary, Diploma

Co-Lead Montessori Teacher

angela.prado@greatjourneyslc.ca

Devika Banerjee, Bachelor's Degree in Music, C.D.A 

Pre-school Teacher

devika.banerjee@greatjourneyslc.ca